The Tourmaliners

Tourmaliners (pronounced The Tur – Mo – Leen – ers) - A dynamic Surf Guitar Band from San Diego CA. Winner of "Best Rock Album" at the 2023 San Diego Music Awards and Pipeline Instrumental Reviews' (UK) 2023 “Album of the Year.”  The Tourmaliners blend the raw instrumental guitar sounds of Dick Dale, Link Wray and The Ventures mixed with fun dance-able tiki vibrations and spy gyrations… all while watching a cool Spaghetti Western from outer space.

Since The bands start in June 2018,  they have performed a “residency” at the legendary dance spot Tio Leo’s Lounge in San Diego. The band has also performed at the 18th annual Gator By The Bay Festival, the Almost Annual Tourmaline Tailgators event, Tiki Oasis San Diego 2020 and 2021, The Casbah (San Diego), Campus Jax (Newport Beach), Surfin' Sunday's at the Huntington Beach Pier and The Secret Island Lounge in Long Beach, CA.  The band has opened 3 times for the legendary 60's surf group The Surfaris, known for their hit song "Wipe Out." 

In August 2022, the Tourmaliners signed with Pacific Records. Their third album "Surfidia" was released on Pacific on December 20th, 2022.  The album features guest appearances by Ron Blair (Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers / Blue Stingrays), Eddie Angel (Los Straitjackets) and Bob Spalding (The Ventures.) The band released their "Surfin' Christmas Carols" album on 12" vinyl, CD and digital on the Altered State of Reverb label in late October 2020.  The band has over 1.5 Million streams on Pandora.  

Recently the bands instrumental surf cover of Weezer’s “Island In The Sun” has gone viral on TikTok with over 6000 videos created, some with 2 millions of views per video. The bands digital release of the Christmas tune "Greensleeves" was featured as part of the SNAP! Records (Spain) compilation albums entitled "Power Chords, Harmonies and Mistletoe 2" and Power Chords, Harmonies and Mistletoe 3.  The band recorded a one off single of the Christmas classic "O Little Town Of Bethlehem" for Sharawaji Records (UK) Christmas compilation entitled Surfin' Kitty X-mas.  The bands song "LG" (dedicated to Larry Gordon founder of Gordon & Smith Surfboards) is part of the Blindspot Records compilation album "Staring At The Sun Vol. XIII."

 Meet The Tourmaliners:

Deven Berryhill  
A guitarist, songwriter and producer who has released 3 alternative rock albums, two of them through the Rolltop Music Label.  Deven is the son of Bob Berryhill, co-author of the song Wipe Out and founding member/guitarist of the famed 60’s surf rock group The Surfaris.  Deven has had the privilege of performing and recording as a support guitarist and songwriter for The Surfaris since 2002.  Deven has shared the stage with such bands as The Kingsmen, Herman’s Hermits, Dean Torrence of Jan & Dean, Frankie Avalon, The Diamonds, The Tokens, Martha Davis & The Motels, Lee Rocker (Stray Cats), Marshall Crenshaw, The Crystals and The Ventures.  

Joe Dameron 
A fine surf guitar player who also currently plays lead guitar for La Jolla’s own The Bird Rockers. 
John MacElwee 
Spent his early teens studying drums under Glenn Symmonds, drummer for Eddie Money as well as The Untouchables. Has played and recorded for singer-songwriter-recording artist Michael Miller. Is credited with drum tracks on Pete Yorn and Rami Jaffee’s Trampoline Records Greatest Hits Volume 2.  Spent 7 years traveling,  playing and recording for multi-album recording artist The Justin Fox Band.  Currently performs with Jason Lohrke as “Early Neil Diamond Tribute” in residency of over 150 shows from 2017-2022 at the Welk Theater in Escondido, CA.

Matt Clowmintzer

Born in Memphis raised in Southern California with a few stints in LA. In Nashville was a founding member of a legendary soul band, Hot Chicken Stew in which he was a principle writer. Has played and performed with many greats such as members of Buddy Guy’s band and Eric Clapton’s, has performed throughout the US and Europe including the prestigious Montreux Jazz Festival. He is also currently a member of funk-soul dance band Gruvmatic and a member of the Jonny Tarr quartet.